Confessions of a High Drag Podcast Contest Loser

Protovarious
Protovarious

Beginning of December. I finish my inspection of the truck and just before I take off from Texas to California, Random McNally and the rest of the High Drag crew drop the bomb about an introduction contest. Ideas began to flood my head as I headed west. All night, I kept thinking of music backgrounds, the way I wanted to format it, etc.

Did I want it to be funny?

Did I want it Dramatic?

God…WHAT MUSIC DO I USE?????

Taking my break in El Paso, I broke out my older laptop, downloaded an open-source sound editor as well as several back episodes of High Drag then got to work. Like most people, I don’t like the sound of my own voice at times, so what do? Ah, how about an open source reader to go with the software I’m downloading! At the break-neck speed of a truck stop wi-fi connection, data streamed through at the pace of a sleeping snail nailed to a two-by-four. Coming back from eating some dinner and taking a shower, I set off to work.

Funny. Yes, it had to be somewhat of a parody. All of the moments about the podcasts that I remember were hilarious moments done at the drop of a hat. I snipped a few clips of each of the panelists and thought about a theme. I imagined a clone bay coming to life then set the narration to do the introduction of each member of the podcast as if they were rising from their suspended animation.

“Clearance request for incoming transmission: Granted…Clone bay accessed…”

It just began to fall together. Doom music in the background, I set out to create something both epic and funny. “Genious!” I thought to myself. This is going to be great!

Then, just before the holidays, the rules changed. No longer was this for a Plex and a Daredevil…but FOUR Plex and THREE Daredevils. Now, understanding that I’m Eve poor, this now officially turned into a “Oh, that’d be nice.” to “ZOMG I’m gonna be SPACE RICH!!!11!”. But alas…I was the only entry thus far. I didn’t want to win by freaking DEFAULT! So I set to the boards, Twitter, and spread as much word as I could.

Judgement day. Another night at a truckstop back in Amarillo, Texas patiently waiting for Fintarue to start his twitch stream. Bandwidth was better tonight. The video was choppy, but I could hear the crew doing their preshow preparation in the background. It was kinda cheating, but I did hear Random read off the results to get confirmation from Fintarue, Asherothi, and Zealot that these were the agreed upon results. They confirmed it and the recording began.

Eight minutes of intros, hellos, and updates from each of the panelists. I knew where I placed, I just wanted to hear the other two competitor’s submissions. This was freaking killing me. What beat me? What didn’t I think of? Was I off base with what the panel wanted to hear?

Then the playbacks began, first that of the third place winner; who’s introduction, while clear and according to the rules, was a bit slow for me. Nothing really jumped out and grabbed me. Sorta felt like I was going to be listening to a Deaf Poetry Jam podcast. It was good, but I could understand why the panel didn’t select it. Next was mine. Fin really liked the music set to it and Random seemed to really appreciate the clips I used…

Come on…play the freaking winner already!!!!

Epic music sets in. Clips from mission control in Apollo 13 cue up with self intros from the panel followed by, “This…is High Draaaag”. It was good. Damn, it was good. The cutting was seamless and the volumes were spot on. I had to comment in channel that it was good. Better than mine. This seemed to be the story of Goldilocks and the Eve Bears. First one too cold, the second too hot, with the third juuuuuust riiiight.

In the end, I came out with the Plex and Daredevil that I participated for in the first place so to me I won either way. 🙂 Congratulations to the winner of the High Drag Intro Contest!

…I’ll be back!

Listen to the Intro (right click to save)

One thought on “Confessions of a High Drag Podcast Contest Loser”

  1. Was an awesome entry and was a very tough decision. Excellent job!

    Keep listening and you’ll get more shots at some really cool prizes!

    Random

Leave a Reply

